On Now
Coming Up
  • There are no Events to display in this category.

Write Now Blog

Jennings tops fan balloting for Pro Bowl

Posted by Larry Mayer on December 20, 2012 – 2:55 pm

Ten Bears finished in the top five at their respective positions in fan balloting for the NFC Pro Bowl team, which ended Monday.

The only Bears player to lead his position in votes was cornerback Tim Jennings, who tops the NFL with eight interceptions. Cornerback Charles Tillman, defensive tackle Henry Melton and return specialist Devin Hester all finished second at their positions.

Receiver Brandon Marshall and strong safety Major Wright were third; defensive end Julius Peppers and special teams standout Blake Costanzo were fourth; and middle linebacker Brian Urlacher and outside linebacker Lance Briggs were fifth.

The Pro Bowl teams are based on the consensus votes of fans, players and coaches. Each group’s vote counts one-third toward determining the 43-man rosters that represent NFC and AFC.

NFL players and coaches cast their votes this week. The teams will be announced at 6 p.m. (CT) on Wednesday, Dec. 26 on NFL Network’s “NFL Total Access.”

The Pro Bowl will be played on Sunday, Jan. 27, 2013, a week before Super Bowl XLVII, and televised live on NBC at 6 p.m. (CT) from Aloha Stadium in Honolulu.

Posted in Uncategorized, Write Now | No Comments »

Sorry, comments for this entry are closed at this time.