On Now
Coming Up
  • There are no Events to display in this category.

Write Now Blog

Ex-Bears among Hall of Fame nominees

Posted by Larry Mayer on September 27, 2012 – 2:10 pm

Former Bears tackle Jim Covert, center Jay Hilgenberg and defensive tackle Ted Washington are among 127 nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2013.

Covert and Hilgenberg were part of dominant offensive lines that helped the Bears win Super Bowl XX, capture five straight NFC Central Division championships from 1984-88 and lead the NFL in rushing for four consecutive seasons from 1983-86.

Washington played 18 NFL seasons with the 49ers (1991-93), Broncos (1994), Bills (1995-2000), Bears (2001-02), Patriots (2003), Raiders (2004-05) and Browns (2006-07). In the first of his two years in Chicago, he helped the Bears win the NFC Central title and was voted to the Pro Bowl.

The Hall of Fame Selection Committee will reduce the number of candidates from 127 to 25 semifinalists in late November. A list of 15 modern-era finalists will then be announced in January.

The Class of 2013 will then be selected from the list of 15 modern-era finalists plus the two senior nominees (former Chiefs and Oilers nose tackle Curley Culp and former Packers and Redskins linebacker Dave Robinson) who were chosen last month by the Senior Selection Committee.

Posted in Write Now | No Comments »

Sorry, comments for this entry are closed at this time.